It’s Not Over 4

When the cab pulled up to the curb around the corner from Reese’s building, Finch started feeling some apprehension about entering the loft. John must be wiped out from his ordeal; he might not appreciate having me barge in there, he thought, his gait slowing as he approached the entrance. I’ll just slip in and leave him his breakfast and slip back out again. No need to wake him up if he’s still sleeping…

However, Finch was not a master of stealth, and Reese was a master of alertness. As Finch attempted to unlock and turn the doorknob noiselessly, he felt a strange prickling on the back of his neck and looked up to meet Reese’s eyes. He was fairly certain that Reese’s one hand, under the pillows, was already grasping his gun.

“I’m sorry to disturb you,” he mumbled, standing in the doorway, “but I’ve brought you breakfast.” He lifted the box and the drink carrier on top of it in a slight gesture, like a peace offering, but he need not have worried. A smile spread across Reese’s chiseled features, bringing out the warmth he was so capable of.

“Sounds great,” Reese said, then stretched luxuriously — the gun safely tucked away again, Finch noted.

While Finch microwaved their drinks to get them hot, Reese ambled into the bathroom and returned a minute later wearing a terry-cloth robe over his boxers. They settled into the modern sectional couch where they had eaten dinner the previous evening and started devouring the doughnuts with relish.

“Where’s Bear?” Reese asked after a few mouthfuls.

“With Mr. Tao. Who, apparently, is enjoying the fact that he gets more attention from the ladies when he has Bear with him.”

Reese grunted in amusement over his coffee. “Maybe that’s my problem.”

“I beg your pardon?”

“I struck out last night because I didn’t have my trusty wing man with me.”

A look flitted across Finch’s face that clearly said, We’re back to that subject, are we? But he schooled his expression into one of resolve, cleared his throat, and set his half-eaten éclair down.

“About that, Mr. Reese…”

“You don’t have to apologize, Finch. I’m sorry I pushed you too hard too soon — I was just… happy to see you. But if you ever change your mind, the invitation still stands. Always.”

Finch swallowed and contemplated the éclair on the table.

“I… appreciate the offer, Mr. Reese. But I think it would be unwise to… get involved in… any sort of way, that might… jeopardize our working relationship, not to mention efficiency—”

“Finch,” Reese interrupted, “do you really think what we have is a purely ‘working relationship’? Coworkers don’t risk their lives to defuse bomb vests, Harold. If all you wanted was a business partner, you should have stayed away like I told you to. But you didn’t. You even came to the parking garage, without considering that they might have set a trap for you.” Reese paused and waited until Finch finally met his gaze. “We’ve crossed that line a long time ago, Harold. Both of us. I don’t regret it. But you were right last night when you told me to stop wasting time — we never know how much time we’ve got left. And I’m not going to beat around the bush anymore. I want you. I’ve wanted you for almost two years now. I’ll wait until you’re ready, but I’m not going to pretend like I don’t have these feelings. If you’re uncomfortable with that, I’m sorry, but you know I won’t let it interfere with my job.”

Finch inclined his head in acknowledgment of that last statement and stared unseeingly at the table for a while.

“I know you will always perform… above and beyond my expectations, John. I just… I don’t know what I’d expected… of this relationship.” He pursed his lips as he gathered his thoughts. “As is so often the case, people are infinitely more than the sum of their actions. I suppose I expected us to become good working partners, friends at best… but you have exceeded even that. You have become… very dear to me, John. And you know how hard it is for me to trust anyone. I’m just… not sure… how this would work.”

Reese reached across the table to lay his hand on Finch’s, where it rested on his knee.

“It’ll work. We’ll make it work, Harold.” He squeezed Finch’s hand gently. “For right now, I’m glad you’re here. I’m glad we’re alive — that we have the chance to do this right.” Reese took a deep breath before saying, “Sleep with me.”

When Finch looked up at him with startled, wide-open eyes, Reese’s mouth twitched into a lopsided grin.

“Just sleep. You look like you’ve been up all night — and probably the night before. You need to rest, and I’ll sleep easier if you’re here with me… if I know you’re safe. Just… don’t think. Just be with me, Harold. That’s all I ask.”

Finch’s mouth had gone dry but he managed to say, “I, uh… I don’t have any… um… change of clothes with me…”

“Don’t worry about it. You can wear this,” Reese said, indicating his bathrobe, “if you don’t feel comfortable in just your skivvies. I promise I won’t try to put any moves on you if you don’t want me to.”

Somewhat in a trance, Finch found himself agreeing to these arrangements.


Previous ‹‹‹‹‹ ж ››››› Next

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Plink42

     /  2013/07/02

    And so begins the slow burn, which I’m sure will heat up quite nicely soon enough. 😉

    It’s good to know that Harold does have feelings for John, he just doesn’t know what to do with them. But John will be an excellent teacher.

    I’m so loving this! 😀

    Reply
    • I just love writing their “first time” over and over, because I think Harold would be so totally adorable in his awkward shyness! XD But no worries, this won’t take long… 😉

      Reply
  2. Mamahub

     /  2013/07/02

    Oh I’m so glad you are updating this quickly! And that Harold trusted Reese and himself enough to take a chance at happiness. I love Reese’s heartfelt speech. Sigh.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! I tried to hear the lines in their voices, you know, to stay true to their characters. Hope you like the rest, too! 😀

      Reply
  3. rainiejanie

     /  2013/07/02

    Again with the chapter ending when the good stuff starts. You really need to stop that. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 300 other followers

