1-year WordPress Anniversary

You registered on WordPress.com 1 years ago!
Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!


Ah, little do they know! XD

But in celebration of this anniversary, I am giving away 5 free copies of my e-book, “A Tale of Two Trucks,” to people who comment on this post (and haven’t gotten it already). If I don’t get a lot of responses, the first 5 people will get it; if I get a lot of responses (like over 10), I’ll put your names in a hat (actually a grocery sack) and do a random drawing.

It would help if you have a Dreamspinner Press account — then I can simply have the Powers That Be put the e-book on your virtual bookshelf to be downloaded at your convenience. I would need to know the e-mail address you use for DSP; you can e-mail me at SeveRemus at aol dot com if you win. [Sorry I have to spell out my e-mail address — just trying to prevent spambots from getting it.]

If you don’t have an account with DSP, simply e-mail me and let me know which format you prefer: .epub, .mobi, or .pdf.

Here’s a blurb and an excerpt from the book:

Interior designer Mike Stevenson is shopping for a new ride when he literally runs into Joe Adams, a contractor who works for one of his clients. Mike is immediately attracted to Joe, but since Joe is wearing a wedding band, Mike assumes his case is hopeless—just like the rest of his love life.

Then the two lonely men start spending time together and Mike learns more about Joe’s past, falling deeper in love with him against his own better judgment. Will they ever find happiness, in spite of Mike’s vindictive ex and Joe’s well-intentioned family?


We got off to a good start, with Joe painting the ceilings and the upper half of the walls and me doing the lower half, the edges, and the trim. The first snag we ran into was that two of the cans of paint hadn’t been mixed properly and were very obviously a shade off from the rest. While Joe went back to the store with those cans and the receipt, I continued painting and, since I was alone, set up my iPod with speakers so I could listen to Gloria Estefan while I worked.

I love to paint to her upbeat songs and had chosen for my playlist all the best ones: “Get on Your Feet,” “Conga,” “1, 2, 3,” and “Live for Loving You” to name a few. It made the time pass by so quickly that Joe was back before I knew it—literally!—and when I turned around he was standing in the doorway with a huge grin plastered on his face, having listened for who knows how long as I sang along to “Turn the Beat Around” at the top of my lungs, no doubt shaking my booty as I always did without even realizing it.

“You are so gay!” he pronounced and roared with laughter. Unfortunately, he’d forgotten the fact that I had an extended paint roller in my hands, which, of course, I now used to roll a streak of burgundy-red paint on his tattered T-shirt.

“And you are so dead!” I declared.

The glint in my eye must have tipped him off that he was in deep doo-doo, because he took one look at the red roller I was poking at his face and sprinted off through the dining room and out the back door. I followed in my sock feet, never even considering the grass stains they would incur, brandishing the paint roller like a trident and yelling threats at Joe like a banshee.

He ran around the corner of the house to head for the front yard, and when I hollered “You are so dead meat!” he glanced back to see how close I was on his heels. It almost proved to be fatal—he tripped over the rainspout and went sprawling across the front lawn, skidding to a stop mere inches from the sidewalk, where an older couple (presumably his neighbors) were pushing a baby stroller with a baby (most likely their grandchild) in it.

“Beware the crazy interior designer!” Joe gasped at them, deadpan, before scrambling to his feet and tearing across to the other side of the yard. I had to admire his aplomb in a situation that could have been mortally embarrassing. Not to be outdone, however, I plucked one of my business cards out of my breast pocket and extended it to them with my best poker face. The poor old gent was so astounded, he took it without a word.

“Open house dates to be announced,” I told them solemnly, then resumed my pursuit of Joe, still wielding the roller.

burgundy paint roller extended

Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. YAY! Congrats!!!

    Reply
  2. I absolutely love this blurb. Please count me in.

    Reply
  3. youval

     /  2013/06/03

    congarts!
    also put me in the thing to get the book please

    Reply
  4. congratulations, I love your writing and have found this story looks very good. I would of course ask to be allowed in the drawing.

    Reply
  5. deliacerrano

     /  2013/06/03

    Great start. Thanks for thinking of this giveaway. I definitely want to be included in the drawing! And good luck to me!

    Reply
    • Okay! I deleted your e-mail address — I recently got spoofed or hacked, so I’m being very careful… I wrote it down for reference already! 😉

      Reply
  6. Plink42

     /  2013/06/03

    ROFL! That poor couple must think Mike accosts people with loaded paint rollers every day. Congratulations on your anniversary and please let me toss my hat into the ring. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Tsukinani

     /  2013/06/03

    I love this story, but have yet to manage to match up money in my account with remembering to buy it. Count me in! Tsukinani at hotmail dot com. 😛

    Reply
  8. gravipotter3

     /  2013/06/04

    I LOVE!!!!!!!!! the tale of two trucks.and congrates on your 1 year hope their many more to come 😀 love your writing 🙂

    Reply
  9. Amy C

     /  2013/06/04

    I want this!! It looks really good:)

    Reply
  10. Congrats! I would love to be part of the drawing! Blurb sounds awesome and I laughed out loud at the excerpt.

    Reply
  11. Oh wonderful! Congrats on the anniversary! Your new book looks promising, please count me in for the draw!

    Reply
  12. Indigo Night

     /  2013/06/04

    This is really cute! I hope I’m not too late for the drawing though. And congrats for the 1 year! Kampai!

    Reply
  13. Cynthia

     /  2013/06/04

    The excerpt is so funny! I love it. Please enter me into the drawing. Thanks.
    When are you drawing the names?
    email: schan26 dot wisc at gmail dot com

    Reply
    • I’m glad you like it! I was gonna draw names sometime tonight to give people a good 24 hours to enter. Stay tuned!! 😉

      Reply
  14. H.B.

     /  2013/06/05

    Sounds wonderful. If it isn’t too late please add my name into the mix. Thank you =)

    humhumbum AT yahoo DOT com

    Reply
  15. Trix

     /  2013/06/05

    If I’m not too late, I’d love to be in the running…
    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

    Reply
  16. If you entered for a book, don’t forget to e-mail me with either your DSP account or the format in which you’d like to receive it. You are ALL winners this week! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 307 other followers

