In honor of: Gina DeJesus, Amanda Berry, and Michelle Knight

I am more than a vagina.

I laugh, I grieve, I love.

I have within me the power to care, to comfort, and to change the world.

I have the ability to become a mother.

I am my mother’s beloved daughter.

I am a woman.

I have something in common with all queens and empresses.

I embody every woman ever adored as a goddess.

I can be reduced to a slave, but my spirit will always be free.

I am a sentient, emotional being; my soul is eternal.

I am not a victim, I am a survivor.

I survived the hell you made for me; I will sure as hell make a better future for myself.

I deserve a man who will respect me for my mind and my heart, who appreciates me for the beautiful person I am; I will not settle for less.

I will not allow your ugliness to taint my loveliness.

I will not be defined by my past.

I am a human being.

You can only see me as a vagina because you are only a penis.

You’re a mindless dick walking around pretending to be a man, a monstrosity with no useful purpose.

You cannot control me.

I have become stronger, kinder, and more beautiful because I needed to and because those qualities were already within me.

I am worth more than you can ever comprehend.

I am resilient.

I am me.

house of horrors


This news story did not just hit close to home, it is home. I cannot adequately describe the seething rage and sorrow that have gripped me in the past few days, but I am heartily glad that these women have survived their long ordeal. The man who did this to them will never see justice, unless by some rare infusion of wisdom the courts decree that he be held captive for ten years, chained to his bed, with the general prison population allowed to do with him as they please.

If this story has touched your heart as it has mine, please consider making a donation to or shopping at Women At Risk International, a faith-based organization that has safe houses in over 30 countries, including the United States. W.A.R. International works with Interpol and the FBI to rescue women who have been forced into prostitution against their will, and also provides them with job training so they can earn their living with dignity and beauty. When you purchase a craft item, 90% of your money will go back to the actual safe house where that product was made.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Mamahub

     /  2013/05/09

    Beautifully said Thea!

    Would you do me the honor if posting this on the Discussion Forum under the Off Topic / Personal thread? I think it is so very important and would be very well received.

    Also, I don’t know if you are aware but we have a Writer’s Corner where you can post a link to promote your fica. You can link back to this site.

    Last episode tonight! Sob. Hope to see you on the site to chat later!

    Reply
    • Not at all — I would be honored!

      I need to check out that corner… there are just so many nooks and crannies… ^_^;

      Yep. Bracing for impact…

      Reply
  2. Plink42

     /  2013/05/09

    I have no words for how beautiful this is. You have perfectly encapsulated what women are and how we should be seen: as PEOPLE who deserve RESPECT. It’s sad that are still people with stone-age attitudes that need to be reminded of that.

    Love you! :’)

    Reply
  3. rainiejanie

     /  2013/05/09

    I have heard that prisons have a “code of ethics”, and people who are in for crimes against women and kids are not very popular. Maybe they’ll get
    a taste of their own meds. Sorry to get so dark, but this is a dark situation.

    Love your poem. How very true every word is.

    Reply
    • Although I doubt these monsters will be put in the general population in prison (since they’d be at high risk of… shall we say, “mob justice”?), I can’t help but pray that there is a special place of suffering for them in Hell. It’s just… too horrific.

      Thank you!

      Reply
  4. deliacerrano

     /  2013/05/09

    Beautiful thought! I envy your control over language in stories & in this poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 307 other followers

